Using the main configuration interface to reset the factory data

The main configuration interface is displayed when the system is in the main operating mode. Consider the options of configuration interface: 

• 0 – Exit. The system exits the CLI and displays the login prompt.

• 1 – Reboot. The system restarts in main operating mode.

• 2 – Shutdown. The system turns off. You will need to access the components the system hardware to restart it.

• 3 – Safe OS. System reboots into secure operating mode and allows one minute at login. If the user logs in, the system displays the CLI Maintenance. If the user does not log in during this time, the system enters the main operation. For more information on how to secure operation.

• 4 – Reset configuration. The system performs a level 1 reset. The system reset all configuration data according to the default settings defined in the factory.

• 5 – Software Reset. The system performs a level 2 reset. The system resets all configuration data and software according to parameters by factory defined fault.

• 6 – IP Configuration. You can configure the following basic IP settings: 

  • Return to Previous Menu. The system returns to the main menu.
  • Hostname. Allows you to assign the system host name.
  • IP Address. Allows you to assign the system’s IP address.
  • Subnet Mask. Allows you to assign the subnet mask corresponding to the IP address.
  • Default Gateway. Allows you to assign the system default gateway.
  • DHCP Client Mode. Enables or disables DHCP client mode.
  • Commit Changes. Save changes to IP settings.
  • Reload Settings. Reloads the existing IP parameters.

Using the maintenance interface

The CLI Maintenance interface is displayed when the system is in secure operating mode. This diagnostic mode allows you to troubleshoot problems that may affect the main operation of the system. Telephony applications and services are not executed when the system is operating in secure mode. 

The options for the Maintenance interface are:

• 0 – Exit. The system exits the CLI and displays the login prompt in secure mode.

• 1 – Reboot into Main OS. The system restarts in main operating mode.

• 2 – Shutdown. The system turns off. You will need to access the components the system to restart it.

• 3 – Reboot into Safe OS. The system restarts in secure operating mode and allow 1 minute for login. If the user does not log in during this time, the system switches to the main operating mode.

• 4 – Transition to Main OS. The system switches from secure mode to operating mode main without rebooting.

• 5 – Reset configuration. The system performs a level 1 reset. The system reset all configuration data according to the default settings defined in the factory.

• 6 – Software Reset. The system performs a level 2 reset. The system resets all configuration data and software according to parameters by factory defined fault.

How to manually restart or reset a switch in the initial state 

The network device reset feature is useful when certain configuration changes require a reset to fully apply the configuration settings, or if the device does not perform as expected. The network device configuration settings get reflected after the device recoveries. 

The delivery characteristic is used to withdraw the execution or delivery configurations. configuration in progress on the network device and to restore them to the values by original defect. Manual reset is recommended when the entire device must be changed, or in case you forget the password and not able to recover by all means like accessing the console using telnet or the line interface of command. This article provides instructions on how to manually restart or reset the initial state your switch.

Important: When a switch is rebooted, the current configuration file is deleted. Before you start with the reset instructions, be sure to save all current configuration configurations to avoid loss of data. 

The duration of the entire procedure (reboot vs reset) is approximately ten minutes. This duration is nevertheless variable and depends, in particular, on the software version and the applications installed.